Skip to content

The Thames Festival Feast

September 16, 2010

Not much later and the G&T has been replaced by a cuppa tea, the balcony doors are firmly shut and I am wrapped in a Scottish blanket. I’m not sure if Scottish blankets are warmer than other ones, but I think they do sound warmer, don’t you?

The Thames Festival on the weekend also had a feast on Southwark Bridge, which was wonderful – stalls selling food, tables stretching down the bridge, puppet shows, scarecrows, apple bobbing, jam making, thatching demos, biscuit decorating – lotsa good stuff. I especially loved the tablecloths by Sophie Herxheimer who illustrated them with food stories from Londoners.

Magic, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 9:28 am

    This is great! I never even knew there WAS a Thames Festival. Thanks for the words and pics!

    • Francesca permalink*
      September 19, 2010 9:20 am

      🙂 Thanks Colin!

  2. October 2, 2010 5:51 pm

    I’m so annoyed I missed this! Me and my travelly ways…!

Leave a Reply

