Skip to content

Pork Roast

October 13, 2010

I know, I know. I hardly posted while I was in New York and I’ve been back for 5 days and still nothing. I haven’t even sorted through my photos yet. Oy Vey. There’s lot’s I want to share, and I will, soon.

The morning I got back everything was blanketed with a thick mist, but then it cleared to show a perfect blue sky. It’s still chilly though, and the trees have changed colour and the squirrels and birds are feasting and everything is autumn. Yesterday I made a pork roast – I scored, oiled and salted the skin, put it into a blazing hot oven for 20 minutes then cooked it at a medium heat for another hour or so. While it was resting and the potatoes were finishing we cut the crackling off and divided it between us, unwilling to wait until we sat down. It was golden and crispy and perfect. It makes me feel happy to curl up into this season of mists and mellow fruitfulness, of roast pork, red wine and berry crumble.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 2:07 pm

    Welcome home!

    I’ve so enjoyed your updates while on your journey, and patiently await seeing more of your glorious photos.

    It sounds like you’re relaxing back into life at home in perfect fashion.

    • Francesca permalink*
      October 18, 2010 2:07 pm

      Yes indeed – a roast is always a good idea, says I! Now I’ve just a little while longer of this Autumn before I head back to a Sydney Spring – loverly! xo

Leave a Reply

