Skip to content

Cuban. Sandwich. Oh my.

October 20, 2010

The reason I got to have a whole 17 days in New York was because my lovely friends Yasmin and Will have recently made the big and bold move there from Sydney and invited me to stay. Apart from being (obviously) very generous folk, Yasmin happens to be the most amazing food guide in the universe. You might think that’s hyperbole in action, but it’s really not (she has a fab blog, where she’s writing about her New York food adventures, and where to go for the most tasty delights in the land). Despite having only lived there a few weeks, Yas had the food map figured, which meant that each day I got to go to the best place for coffee (Stumptown – more on that later), or matzo ball soup (the 2nd Avenue Deli), lobster rolls (Pearl Oyster Bar), burgers (Shake Shack), or fancy champagne and mind-boggingly fantastic dessert with a shining view of Central Park (Per Se). The list, as they say, goes on.

And then there were the Cuban Sandwiches at Cafe Habana. Oh my. Where have they been all my life? As the menu says, a Cuban sandwich is toasted bread filled with roast pork, ham, swiss cheese and pickles, but those are just words. They simply can’t convey the ability of this stellar sandwich to transform the world from black and white Kansas to colourful Oz. The toasted crust of the roll gently cracked and gave way to roast pork that was so tender, it melted into the other ingredients. It was perfect. With a lime soda to drink and a side of grilled corn Mexican style, I was in lunch heaven.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 9:32 pm

    I have a Cafe Habana grilled corn pic in my NYC photo collection too!

    • Francesca permalink*
      January 5, 2011 9:55 pm

      It’s the best! I’ve tried to recreate it (the sandwich too), but I still haven’t quite got it right.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Cuban. Sandwich. Oh my. « -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

