Skip to content

13 Days

November 2, 2010

My ticket is booked, and I have 13 days left before my return to Oz. 13 days of autumn’s shining blue days and frosty dark nights, of watching the logs on the fire give way to the heat and tumble in on themselves, of toasting crumpets and teacakes, going to my favourite cake shop, catching the train into London, walking along Southbank, lining up for the best coffee at Monmouth, of walking through the grove and the town and soaking up the wholehearted delight of the anticipation of Christmas that is so hard to find in Australia.

I don’t feel ready at all, so I keep reminding myself that I can come back, soon, as soon as I please, because I am in charge and in control (something I often forget).

I am also reminding myself of the the things I am returning to. There are 13 days until I sit with my dad in the springtime garden with a lunch of fresh crisp bread rolls filled with prawns and mayo and avocado. 13 days until a walk on the beach, the smell of jasmine, walking about barefoot, decluttering my stuff – selling lots and giving the rest away, drinks and dinner with friends, good Newtown Thai food and good coffee pretty much anywhere I go.

Is there anything else? Anything else I must see or do in London before I leave, anything I should head straight for when I get back to Sydney?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 1:33 am

    Awwww, big blues skies. Hope the weather holds off for your return. It’s been so wet and cold this week.

    • Francesca permalink*
      November 5, 2010 3:38 pm

      You’re not supposed to tell me that, Katie! You’re supposed to make me want to come back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. November 3, 2010 1:36 am

    eeeeeeeeeeek!!

  3. November 3, 2010 12:38 pm

    I wish for you many wondrous days before you depart and of course, on your arrival back home! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Francesca permalink*
      November 5, 2010 3:39 pm

      Thanks, sweet Tracey!

  4. November 3, 2010 2:03 pm

    holy cow, that came around quick!
    i think i’ve given you most of my fave hangouts, glad you did some graffiti hunting – told you it was fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Francesca permalink*
      November 5, 2010 3:41 pm

      Yes! So many of the best places I’ve been on this trip have been your recommendations, Leonie. The graffiti hunting was awesome. I owe you a glass of wine, for sure! xxox

Leave a Reply

