Skip to content

Time Waits For No Blog

November 7, 2010

I finally got my New York pictures up on Facebook this morning, which meant that I looked through all of them again and realised how much I still wanted to share here. But time is marching on and other things are happening and other words are forming and there’s lots of other, more immediate stuff I want to share too. Plus I’m still counting down until I leave (8 days!) and there’s lots I want to do between now and then which leaves nary a moment for me to settle down and write something coherent. Things may well be a bit jumbled for the next few days.

Thinking about being out of time made me think in particular about a post I’ve been – not putting off, but not getting on with either – a post about the moments in New York – too many moments – where I felt out of step with the rest of the world, unbalanced and unsure. It’s a feeling I’ve been trying to process since I got back, along with the rest, as well as the good stuff. I’ve been trying hard not to shy away from it, although it’s been difficult to focus properly – like it’s a hard nugget of a thing that I can only glance at, out of the corner of my eye, not really get into by direct means. But I want to talk about it here because I think it’s important not to limit my posts to only the shiny happy things, because sometimes, well, things are neither shiny nor happy. But I can’t think of anything else to say about it. Not yet, anyway. So perhaps it’s enough to simply acknowledge it, for now.

Meantime, Things I Loved About New York #372: The buildings.
Now I love architecture and design, and at least half my holiday photos are always of the buildings, but good golly, New York is just so wonderfully grand. I spent so much time gazing at my surrounds, it completely knocked my socks off.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 5:02 am

    Truly amazing photography! I couldn’t agree more that your own personal blog is absolutely the right place to talk about and share all sorts of thoughts and feelings(the good, the bad and the ugly) – if not there then where? Like you there are often things I’d like to write about but I just can’t seem to find the words. I think the only thing to do with these fugitive subjects is exactly what you’re doing -sit with them for a while, turn them over in your mind, look at them from different angles and let the words come to you rather than chasing them. Does that make any sesnse?

  2. Francesca permalink*
    November 11, 2010 5:47 pm

    That makes perfect sense Caz! As does the term ‘fugitive subjects’ – that’s such an apt description. xxox

Leave a Reply

