Skip to content

A Spoonful

November 20, 2010

So then, it’s Saturday, yes? I’ve had my feet back on Sydney turf for 3 days but it doesn’t quite feel real yet – I’m still in the jet lag bubble and truth be told I’m enjoying the justification for pottering about and keeping quiet.

Happily, something arrived in the postbox yesterday that made me feel very good to be back – issue 3 of Spoonful – which includes a story by me! I wrote it while I was in Tunbridge Wells (mostly while sitting in this gorgeous teashop. If you’re anywhere near the ‘hood, try the Victoria Sponge) and am very excited to have it included. Of course, as a sub-editor, I’ve had articles published before, but this is the first time I’ve had anything personal or creative out there in print, and it’s a whole lot more exciting, let me tell you! It makes me feel good about what I’ve been doing these last few months – taking time out from working on magazines has given me the physical and mental space for my own stories to come to the surface. The next step is to try to figure out how to keep that energy and rhythm going while still earning a crust.

{Images by Spoonful}

Knowing that Spoonful’s lovely editor Anthea thought my work worthy of inclusion is so encouraging. I’m a terrible judge of my own work, but I know she wouldn’t have included my story if she thought it crappola. And the rest of the issue is so very good! If my story is half as good as Michael Lewis‘ Fail Stories (#2 is my fave) or Melissa Wastney’s crafty Sprout pins, then I am a very happy camper indeed. The issue also contains a magical image by one of my absolute favourite illustrators, Anna Emilia and the beautiful artwork of Ellie Nuss. And the Objects of Affection section features images of galleons and, by association, one of my most-loved themes, the romance and adventure of sea travel. It’s almost like the issue was, in fact, made just for me! But it’s made for you too, to be sure, and if you’d like to grab a copy, here’s a list of stockists.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Weez permalink
    November 20, 2010 2:08 am

    That rocks! Well done. I can’t wait to read it.

  2. November 21, 2010 8:52 am

    Welcome home Francesca and congratulations on being published! I’ll try and track down a copy of Spoonful.

  3. November 24, 2010 4:21 am

    that is totally awesome. well done you!

    • Francesca permalink*
      November 30, 2010 1:18 pm

      Thanks lovelies! xxox

Leave a Reply

