Skip to content

Numbers & Excuses

November 30, 2010

12 ::: days back.

1 ::: wardrobe cleared out.

64 ::: items of clothing to the charity shop.

11 ::: pairs of shoes too.

2 ::: pairs of jeans to patch.

17 ::: things to go on ebay.

1 ::: wardrobe still full of stuff I’m not sure I need. Or want.

about 20 ::: boxes of stuff still to sort through.

plus 4 ::: bookcases.

1 ::: Christmas giveaway in the works.

 

Yep. Since I got back, I’ve spent most of my time clearing out my stuff. Decluttering. Downsizing. I wasn’t home when the shed project was going on, but reading about it has certainly helped me stick to my plans, particularly during the moments I’ve felt myself weakening. There are lots of reasons excuses why I’ve had the occasional wobble. These include nostalgic, thrifty and delusional notions such as:

::: I loved those frog figurines so much when I was 6. What if I get rid of them and never remember again how much I loved them? (ditto Garfield toys, owl figurines … you get the idea)

::: That concert was so great! I know the souvenir t-shirt is really ugly and I’m never going to wear it, but it’s such a great reminder!

::: I know that dress/skirt/top hasn’t fitted in 5 years, but I used to love it! Maybe I should save it just in case!

::: I only wore that dress one time at that wedding, and in the end I didn’t really like it that much, but I paid a lot of money for it. Maybe if I keep it, someday it will magically look good on me!

::: I had to wear that knit/dress/skirt for work, back when I worked at Monsoon – they’re not my style but they’re such good quality. If I keep them then someday I might like them, plus then I’ll save money by not buying more stuff!

::: Those shoes are so cute, but so painful! Maybe if I just ignore the pain. Beauty is pain, right? That’s what they say? Ow. Ow ow ow.

 

Honestly. Luckily I’ve managed to (so far) power through the nonsensical excuses. It’s such a relief to be free of it all – or at least to have got the project well underway. I can’t imagine ever missing any of it. The scary thing is how much I still have left. How is it that I’ve given away 64 items of clothing and I still have a full wardrobe?

Scarier than that is the stuff that I really love – the stuff that makes me want to settle in my own place so that I can unpack it permanently and enjoy it. Because that’s not a good enough reason to stay. Stuff is not enough.  And I need to make sure my stuff doesn’t block me as I try to figure out where to go and what to do next. No excuses.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    Brava! I wish I could do that. I do have a bit of a chuck out every now and then but I still seem to have way too much from my past hanging around. It’s even worse now that we have kids as they are forming their own attachments to ‘things’!

    • Francesca permalink*
      December 9, 2010 4:15 pm

      Thanks Caz! It is hard, but so worth it!

Leave a Reply

