Skip to content

Collective Wisdom.

December 24, 2010

After I wrote that I was going to be home alone tomorrow (and that I was fine with that), a couple of friends emailed to say ‘no, you can’t do that, come and spend Christmas with us’, a phrase repeated without fail every time anyone asked what my plans were. This tells me 2 things :::
1. I have pretty awesome friends.
2. If the collective wisdom of, y’know, everyone tells me that I shouldn’t be alone on Christmas day, who am I to disagree? Especially when that ties in with the universal wisdom of the Muppets.

Yep, other made for TV Christmas specials have come and gone, but this is my all-time fave ::: A Muppet Family Christmas. When I was little I taped it and then watched it over and over and over again until it became completely ingrained as an essential part of my Christmas. It’s not available in its entirety on dvd (something to do with copyright – grrr.) but some wonderful person has put the whole thing up on youtube, in 5 parts. It’s the ultimate Muppet love-fest, with everyone from The Muppet Show, Sesame Street and Fraggle Rock getting together for the holidays. Highly recommended.

So, I am spending tomorrow morning with the Muppets, and then I’m off to a do with some friends, and I am very glad for both.

I hope that wherever you are, you are happy and that the day doesn’t turn into a shitfight (as it so often can). And, most of all, I hope you know you are loved.

::: Now, go and read this. Right now. It’s honestly the best thing you can do for yourself.
::: And then read this, a wonderful reflection of the first.

Merry Christmas! xxox

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 7:25 pm

    The Muppets are such a big part of my life … I think they connect me with my childhood and never fail to bring me joy.

    Have yourself a very Merry Christmas!! 😀

  2. December 24, 2010 8:11 pm

    If only we were all more like the Muppets.
    I hope you have a jolly day tomorrow (and every day)!
    x

  3. December 25, 2010 3:30 am

    Francesca, have a wonderful day tomorrow! I’ve spent many Christmases on my own (may do tomorrow, too, if husband is called out) and it’s a rather dignified way to spend a day that many find stressful and chaotic. Taking a walk in the silence is so beautiful.

    Thank you for the Muppet shout-out – love that so much – and thank you more for your lovely, inspiring blog. I look forward to meeting you again next year in Oz – let me know if you find a book festival as fab as Edinburgh and we can spend some time among words.

    Love from Scotland, KP xx

  4. December 30, 2010 10:36 pm

    aaaaaaaaaaaaw, I love the muppet family…

    thea.
    xx

Leave a Reply

