Skip to content

The Word.

January 4, 2011

A couple of days ago Susannah wrote about her choice of word and colour for 2011, and she asked people to comment with the word and colour they would like to frame and define their new year. I’d never done this before, but I think it’s a good idea to have these simple things to think on, to help keep you on track and shake off other, more habitual instincts.

My word for 2011 is Action. Dreaming needs to take a backseat. Not in a bad way, it’s just not helpful or healthy right now. I seem to consistently keep reality at bay and the result is that when I do get my head out of the clouds, I am generally so disappointed by the world, and by my life. I often feel like I’m not really present, and that needs to change. I want to work with what I’ve really got, and make reality the best it can be.

My colour is Yellow – soft golden buttercup yellow. I knew straight away, as soon as Susannah asked, which is weird because I hardly have any yellow in my life – one lemon yellow cardi, that’s it. But I need more. It’s what I want. I want the yellow light that makes everything glow at the end of the day. I want gold and amber, lemon cupcakes and yellow flowers. I want warmth and passion and fun.

According to the first website I clicked on when I googled ‘yellow meaning’ (very scientific, this), yellow “shines with optimism, enlightenment, and happiness. Shades of golden yellow carry the promise of a positive future. Yellow will advance from surrounding colors and instill optimism and energy, as well as spark creative thoughts.

Yes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 9:14 am

    oooh. Action.

    i like it.
    (will it include another trip to the UK by any chance?)

    😉

Trackbacks

  1. The Word. «

Leave a Reply

