Skip to content

Week 1, 2011.

January 8, 2011

It’s been a good first week of 2011, wouldn’t you say? By acknowledging the gloom of new year’s eve (instead of just feeling quietly upset) but then immediately setting some positive intentions for the year, I feel I’ve started off on the right foot. And if I’ve felt a block (which, if this week is anything to go by, happens far too often), I’ve consciously noted it, then reminded myself to focus more on the possibilities and less on the barriers. And it’s helped, every time.

This week I cleared out a bunch more stuff – the recycling bin is almost full of old university notes and art projects. I even found my VM portfolio, a reminder of the one year I spent at TAFE, and 10 minutes I spent as a visual merchandiser. It’s scary to think that that was over 10 years ago! Yet the debris has been hanging around since then, along with so much other Stuff. I’m glad to be free of it. On Wednesday I started a couple of weeks work at a new magazine too. I’m so looking forward to having some money go into my account! The last couple of months I’ve been flinching in advance as I check my bank balance, so this will definitely take the edge off a little. It’s strange being back in an office though. Especially having to sit still all day. I keep thinking of other things I need and want to do, and it’s so odd not to be able to just stop and do them.

Here are some things I’ve been loving this week :::

::: That magical staircase (above, via honestlywtf) by Stuart Haygarth is currently at the V&A. I don’t know why exactly I love it, but I do.

::: Victoria has put together a beautiful collection of black & blue interiors – I’m filing them away for later inspiration!

::: This gorgeous ring would look awfully good on my finger.

::: I’ve been reading a few things about the publication of a new version of Huckleberry Finn – lots of different and valid points of view – but it was something in this one by Susan Orlean that I felt the most recognition with. She said that she wished people would “use the discomfort with the language to launch conversations about words and their social and historical and artistic weight.” The same applies to those revised editions of Enid Blyton, don’t you think? Although at least the original Mark Twain will still be published as well as the new version. For Enid we must scramble in second hand book stores for the original text, alas.

What else?

::: I’ve just added Olga Bennett’s photography blog to my google reader – whatever the subject her images have a sense of calm and space I’m really drawn to. Go see!

I hope your weekend is humming along splendidly! xo
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 9:12 am

    that ring? want
    and the photography… i sure wish i could photograph people like that!

Leave a Reply

