Skip to content

Hello Gorgeous.

January 9, 2011

The first time I spotted one of these lovelies, it was about 6 months after moving to Australia. I got home from school, and there it was, in the backyard. I screamed and ran and called my mum at work. After she’d finished laughing, she explained that I had just had my first encounter with a blue tongue lizard. Louie lived in our backyard for the next 10 years or so, coming out to enjoy the sun, eating any rare strawberries we’d managed to grow, plus the occasional banana offered by mum. She adored him (along with any other animal), and when he stopped appearing around the time she died, it seemed strangely fitting, at least to me.

I’ve spotted this gorgeous specimen in the front yard three times in the last week, which I think makes him ours. He’s still a baby, but he’s bold and quite happy to have his picture snapped. But what to call him? Any ideas?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 11:18 am

    really a blue tongued one? they seem creepy to me. would have not written such things down

    • Francesca permalink*
      January 9, 2011 11:53 am

      Yes, really! I tried to get a picture with his blue tongue sticking out, but he was too quick. They’re pretty common here in Oz – once you get to know them they’re not creepy at all! xo

  2. January 9, 2011 3:47 pm

    Nigel…..he looks like a Nigel.

    • Francesca permalink*
      January 9, 2011 9:50 pm

      Nigel is a great name! Def a contender.

  3. January 9, 2011 3:49 pm

    I live in Florida and we have lizards everywhere. In the northern part of the state where I live, we have just the standard lizards (usually not more than 3-4 inches long, max). In south Florida, iguanas are quite common. The population is not indigenous, but rather an invasive species brought in (or let go from) pet servitude.

  4. Kelstir permalink
    January 9, 2011 4:46 pm

    How do you know it’s male? Call her Lizzy 🙂

    • Francesca permalink*
      January 9, 2011 9:51 pm

      Good point Kel – for some reason, I’ve just assumed it’s a boy (how does one tell, I wonder?).

  5. January 10, 2011 10:31 am

    keep an eye out for snails and slugs to fling in its direction as they love to chomp on them too.
    better than snail pellets…

  6. Weez permalink
    January 21, 2011 10:17 am

    I’m always quite impartial to Elijah 🙂 Love blue tongues. They always used to find away into the bird aviary.

Leave a Reply

