Skip to content

A House on a Hill.

January 11, 2011

::: Illustration by Laura Amiss :::

One of the earliest – and most often repeated – pieces of advice my mum ever gave me was to always live in a house on a hill. She explained about floods, but to me, growing up in south-east England, floods were a far-away thing, a story from the Bible. To me, living in a house on a hill meant being able to step out of the door and go sledding when it snowed – not much more.

But mum was from Brisbane, and she knew what she was talking about. And today, as I watch the news of the devastation in Queensland, and keep track of my family, her words come back to me, and make so much sense.

I’m sending love to my family and friends, to everyone who has had to evacuate, or who has had to stock up with supplies in anticipation of being stuck for the next couple of days, as things – if the forecast is anything to go by – get worse. I hope everyone can stay safe, at the very least. I’m so impressed with how the emergency services have been handling things, and with Premier Anna BIigh’s management. You can read more, and donate to the flood appeal here.
xxox
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 10:18 pm

    Hi,

    Wise words from your Mum. I live on the Isle of Wight and occassional people ask what I would if it flooded, I point out I live three quarters of a way up a hill!

    It is awful what is happening in Australia. I was reading about one area which for seven years has add water bans and then this! It has saddened me to read of the deaths. I know in these times also the needy and elderly can be hugely affected and the struggle and stress most be awful.

    Love the picture you used at the top of the post.

    Andrew

    • Francesca permalink*
      January 12, 2011 9:43 pm

      Hi Andrew,

      Gosh – the Isle of Wight – I’ve never been, but I hear it’s beautiful – it must be a wonderful place to live!

      Yes, many areas have gone from drought to flood in such a short space of time – such crazy extremes happen in this part of the world. And all people can do is manage as best they can.

      xo

Leave a Reply

