Skip to content

Melbourne.

February 2, 2011
tags:

 

45 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 4:30 pm

    You make my home town look so wonderful! I like to think that I never take it for granted but you have made me see her anew – thanks. I hope you don’t mind if I use your wonderful photograph of the State Library Reading Room (I promise to credit and link back)? We took the kids there for the first time over the weekend and they were amazed.

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 4, 2011 9:27 am

      It’s such a great library! Their facilities and exhibitions are fantastic. xo

  2. February 3, 2011 2:58 am

    Lovely snapshots of a city! You make me want to visit.

  3. February 3, 2011 3:17 am

    My husband would love that library. Wow! My personal favorite is the one with the bright blue sky. Where I live now, it’s cloudy with flurries and 19 degrees.

  4. J Roycroft permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:19 am

    Nice pics. Congrats on FP

  5. February 3, 2011 3:28 am

    wow that library looks amazing. melbourne looks amazing! great photos

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  6. February 3, 2011 4:16 am

    Te blue sky looks dazzling- in the bleak mid-winter of London I have forgotten what it looks like! Dame Edna- legend! Your photos are absolutely wonderful!

  7. February 3, 2011 4:24 am

    Beautiful shots. My favorite is the jar with the measuring rulers in it. You’re quite talented!

  8. February 3, 2011 5:04 am

    great pictures! some of them just simple, but amazing… they bring me to want to visit this town…

  9. February 3, 2011 5:17 am

    Awesome pics!

  10. Kari Cross permalink
    February 3, 2011 5:30 am

    WOW!!! Such great pictures!!! I love it. πŸ™‚
    http://www.countoncross.com

  11. February 3, 2011 5:41 am

    Hi Francesca

    Nice to capture the photos, Dame Edna australian icon down to these breakfast menus. I must check out the Australian Dollar. I thought 35dollars for the Salt & Pepper pots expensive and 11 dollars for Juice and Coffee. Oh I see it is aus$1.6 to an english pound so that makes the latter Β£7… still quite expensive.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs
    Tina xx

    TinaCortina
    http://tinacortina.wordpress.com/

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 4, 2011 9:29 am

      Hi Tina, Yes, as Australia is so far away and isolated, op-shop finds are often more expensive here than Europe and the States – such a pity because I adore op-shopping!

  12. February 3, 2011 5:43 am

    A strange figure appeared – Ha. I love the child magician, here to help. Thanks for the the smile.

  13. Katie permalink
    February 3, 2011 7:38 am

    Excellent photos!

    Katie
    http://www.katie-foley.com

  14. February 3, 2011 7:52 am

    Nice pictures!

  15. February 3, 2011 8:38 am

    Ah, this is SO Melbourne…

    I can see the places I am missing…

    … and the places I DID miss. Meaning: Places I did not visit in my time living in Melbourne (despite knowing they excisted). – Your images show me how stupid I was not to explore more.

  16. February 3, 2011 8:42 am

    My wife and I are currently good for a round trip via coach (via fly miles). We are hoping one day to make the upgrade option to business class to visit this wonderful country. The photos are wonderful in quality and beauty as a partial preview for us. Thank you for sharing.

  17. February 3, 2011 8:50 am

    Thank you for sharing a wonderful tour of the city. The city-scape and the foods tell all. Your 2nd image reminds me of a similar perspective of the Grotto I took last year (http://1lens.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/the-grotto/).
    -Q.

  18. February 3, 2011 9:14 am

    great blog!

  19. February 3, 2011 9:52 am

    Melbourne was my home for most of my life. Such a vibrant city.
    Lovely images.

  20. February 3, 2011 12:18 pm

    Shit man,
    you have made me feel home-sick for my home town, dam you and your very good photos of Melbourne. If you were next to me now I stick your camra up your #Β€%&”.
    πŸ™‚

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 4, 2011 9:31 am

      I’m going to take that as a compliment, David! πŸ™‚

  21. February 3, 2011 1:34 pm

    Lovely images, you have done a great job.
    Be good to yourself,
    David from Tweed Heads

  22. February 3, 2011 1:38 pm

    Do the pepper and salt pots represent any Melbourne character? If so, what is his name?

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 4, 2011 9:32 am

      Hi! No, they’re not particularly Melbourne (not that I’m aware of, anyway). I just thought they were quite special.

      • February 6, 2011 9:27 am

        what a pity! they look so lovely that they should have a name!

  23. February 3, 2011 4:28 pm

    Beautiful pictures. And a very different vantage point. Congrats! πŸ˜€

  24. February 3, 2011 4:45 pm

    Abstract and yet not mundane.

  25. artfashionandhim permalink
    February 3, 2011 4:49 pm

    the white library? Beautiful! and I love how you were able to take like… a good picture of an actual picture with the little magician and the old lady.

  26. February 3, 2011 5:31 pm

    I like the artistic edge you’ve used in capturing these photos. Melbourne shall be on my future travel itinerary. Hopefully, I get a few shots like this while I’m at it. (=

  27. February 3, 2011 7:35 pm

    Ah Melbourne, how I love thee. I ‘lived’ there for 6 months ish as a backpacker, in St Kilda. Laid back, cultural, exciting – all the things a city should be. I often miss not being there anymore ; walking across Albert Park to get to work, going to Vic market on a Saturday morning, hanging out in Flinders St Square. One day, one day…

  28. February 3, 2011 10:36 pm

    Just snippets of life. Brilliant!

  29. February 3, 2011 11:20 pm

    Lovely photos! and very unusual!

  30. February 4, 2011 12:27 am

    I MUST have those S & P’s! Nice photo vacation you gave us all, thanks!

  31. February 4, 2011 12:48 am

    The salt and pepper shakers are very unique. Nice shot of them.

    I prefer taking pictures in more regional areas of Victoria because I like landscapes.

  32. February 4, 2011 1:19 am

    I’ve been told “you HAVE to see Melbourne! you will LOVE it. it’s so YOU”
    I hope I’ll be able to visit this year πŸ™‚

  33. February 4, 2011 1:33 am

    congrats! you found the quirky, often easy-to-miss side of melbourne! amazing, all these things are just there, but one often dun see them if they dun look closer!

  34. February 4, 2011 2:48 am

    Great photos, really captures the city! Must visit sometime.

  35. ldesilva permalink
    February 4, 2011 2:55 am

    I miss home 😦

  36. peacockeyeri permalink
    February 4, 2011 9:50 pm

    So simple and yet each one has it’s own personality. I ❀ it!!
    Your photography is amazingly fabulous xD

  37. vanimator permalink
    February 7, 2011 11:10 pm

    Wow!! awesome photos.
    Thanks for the share.

    Vanimator
    http://www.vanimator.com

  38. March 5, 2011 6:36 pm

    These photos make me want to book a trip to Melbourne πŸ™‚ I’m due to come back for a visit soon.
    I was just wondering if you could share with me, what lens you are using for the macro photos? I’m looking for a new lens, and yours seems to work wonders!

    • Francesca permalink*
      March 5, 2011 9:01 pm

      Hihi! Melbourne is splendid, isn’t it? I’m hoping for another visit soon myself πŸ™‚
      I don’t actually have a macro lens! Just the trusty 18-55mm that came with the camera (a Canon 450D) for everything. I’d love a macro, but until I get one I content myself with getting as close to things as I possibly can!

  39. September 5, 2011 12:51 am

    Wonderful post, I like your impressive blog, found you on FP.

    Please visit my interesting training blog.

Leave a Reply

