Skip to content

Weeks 4 & 5, 2011.

February 5, 2011

::: By RococcoCo :::

Seriously? It’s February already?

So, I’m not sure if my making Action the byword for 2011 has anything to do with it, but January, particularly the last fortnight, was jam packed. Mostly good stuff, to be sure, but it’s all been pretty overwhelming. I’m so glad I went on my Melbourne break – I’d be feeling much more frazzled without it!

The big news is that I have decided to stay in Sydney, at least for 2011. That’s right, I made an actual decision. It was prompted by a job offer(!) from the magazine I did a couple of weeks freelancing at after Christmas. This means that as of Monday I will be a permanent full-time senior sub-editor for one of Australia’s top-selling magazines! (Not sure if I can tell you who, I’ll have to check with them first). It’s great for a number of reasons, not the least a regular income (plus superannuation! haven’t had that in a while). But I have to confess, I’m feeling pretty trapped!! must run away!!!! daunted by the prospect of being tied to one place, one desk, one regular series of tasks, 9-5.30 Monday to Friday, and the challenge will be for me to make sure I preserve some time, space and energy to work on my own writing and creative projects and keep carving my own path. The last time I had a full-time permanent job, I had some tough things going on at home and I was in a pretty bad headspace, and the job kind of got tangled up in all that. I (mostly) feel good about this choice – that this is the right thing for now, but I fully intend to make sure it doesn’t drag me down to anywhere even remotely close to where I was before.

Other good stuff in the last fortnight?

::: My first haircut in 6 months. Hells yes.

::: A lovely afternoon in the dappled sunshine of the Sydney Botanic Gardens.

::: Finally! My 5 month search for a classy black leather satchel that can hold my beloved DSLR, wallet, book, water bottle and other essentials ended with a visit to Witchery. I saw it in Melbourne, but held back, because it was kind of exy, then went to look at it again in Sydney, and lo and behold they’d just started a sale and I got 30% off! (The sale is still on in stores, and they have some very pretty things, fyi)

::: I know I said I was going to wait, but I spied Iron & Wine’s new album in the window at Egg Records on Wednesday and couldn’t resist. And it’s Amazing. Favourite songs so far? Me and Lazarus and Big Burned Hand, for sure.

::: And, there was something else … oh yes, my post of photos of my trip to Melbourne was featured on the WordPress homepage on Thursday! That was bloody incredible. I’m sure I’ll never have that many readers in one day again, and I enjoyed the experience thoroughly – there was many a little dance in the living room throughout the day! I’ve been checking out the blogs of all the new people who commented – you are a lovely bunch to be sure!

What else? Lots of good stuff on the interwebs, yes indeed!

::: The Year of the Rabbit has begun! To celebrate, Sufjan Stevens has his album, Enjoy Your Rabbit, available to download for $5.00. Nice!

::: In other, coincidental, music/rabbit related news, I just bought Connect The Dots, the brilliant album by Rabbit. It’s pop and sunshine and energy and awesomeness. I’ve integrated the whole thing into my music mix for my early morning walks, which are set to resume on Monday. I’m in the market for more happy/high energy tunes, so if you have any recommendations, speak up!

::: I’ve been playing with If It Were My Home, where you can compare the conditions where you live to those in other countries. It’s pretty interesting, and certainly has me appreciating Australia even more than before.

::: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys. Need I say more?

::: Cake bunting for sale! Soooo pretty!

::: Hot guys reading books. (it’s been a while)

::: Ever wonder what time would look like as a hexadecimal colour value? No, me neither. It’s pretty cool though.

::: Speaking of cool, this collaboration, words to shoot by, is amazing. I’m going to keep an eye out for their next call-out.

Right then. So long January, hello February! The hottest month of the year – usually I’d try to just keep my head down and get through it, but I really want to make it count too. Keep up the awareness and Action. Onwards!

xxox

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pip Cummings permalink
    February 5, 2011 11:03 am

    Hi Francesca – Great news re the job! Try to look at it as a huge boost to your dreams and goals of freedom. A solid stretch, even of a year, at a permanent senior subbing job on a good title is a fast-track to income and to other job offers, here and elsewhere. I think it’s the very opposite of the obstacle it can (sometimes) appear to be. So happy for you and nice to know you’ll be around! x
    PS (I think the decluttering made everything flow …)

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 6, 2011 9:04 am

      Thanks Pip! Hee. I’m sure the decluttering helped (it’s still going!) Yes, I’ve been trying to focus in the long-term positives. And I am happy to be in a town where I have some good friends – we should all go for after work drinks sometime soon! xo

  2. Alice permalink
    February 6, 2011 4:11 pm

    I am going to have to tell my sister about your job now. Do you get mates rates of subscriptions… hehe!
    It sounds as thought 2011 has started out in fabulous style for you my love and I wish you loads of sunshine and punch in crystal glasses. PS I would recommend some music for you to strut to but lets face it, our music styles are just a little different…

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 6, 2011 7:12 pm

      Hee. Just a little. Though they do coincide occasionally!
      Gimme a chance to start before I figure out the mates rates darl!
      Hurrah for sunshine and punch in crystal glasses!
      xo

  3. February 6, 2011 4:40 pm

    Awesome post Francesca. Congrats on the job (and making the hard a decisionto take it!). Full-time work can be pretty daunting I agree but I think it’s important to keep your hand in not just for super (although that’s good) but because in my experience once you go part-time or are out of the workforce for a while it’s very difficult to get jobs at a senior level. I work at a lower level than I used to becuase I’ve chosen to spend more time with the kids while they’re little but sometimes it does tick me off! As for making sure it doesn’t become all-consuming, I just know you won’t let that happen!

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 6, 2011 7:12 pm

      Thanks so much Caz!
      xo

  4. February 7, 2011 12:13 pm

    Great news about the job! Congratulations are in order.

    What magazine is it is still a mystery.

  5. March 1, 2011 1:42 am

    nice posts. i had a real pleasure during reading. gratz.

Leave a Reply

