Skip to content

What I’m Reading.

March 2, 2011

Pillars of the Earth ::: Ok, so I just finished reading this last week ::: Am I the last person on earth to have heard of this book? Seriously, the number of times some stranger saw me reading it and was compelled to tell me just how amazing, brilliant, and addictive this story is! And they were right! I loves me some historical fiction and this one’s a cracker. As soon as I spy the sequel out in paperback, it’s mine (I can’t be hoiking the hardback about with me – these things are bloody huge).

Persuasion ::: I didn’t want to jump into something new while my head was still in Pillars and I’ve had a hankering to re-read this since remembering Captain Wentworth’s letter on Valentine’s Day. I’m almost up to the letter now, but I’m savouring the build-up before I let the good Captain sweep me Anne off my her feet.

The Lost Books of the Odyssey ::: I bought this at the Harvard co-op bookstore (swoon) when I was in Boston last year, but haven’t read it yet (my to-read pile is a little large, currently hovering just over 50 – I know, I’m appalled too, and there is a not entirely strictly enforced total book-buying ban in place until I get it down to under 20). The Odyssey is one of my all-time favourite books (espesh the Robert Fagles translation, though I’m always up for a new one) and I love connected stories, like The [completely freaking awesome] Penelopiad, so I’m very keen to read this. Apparently it’s utterly brilliant. Plus Zachary Mason wrote it while working full time – wowza! This gives me hope. Confession time – one of my long-held writer fantasies is to write a book of stories about Telemachus. One of them’s even done. Yup. Don’t tell anyone. Or steal my idea.

What are you reading? Anything good?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Weez permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:44 am

    I’m ashamed to say that Tim and I are reading the Narnia books for the first time! We never actually read them in our youth. I’ve just finished reading Sense & Sensibility though. I might add your books to my reading list.

    The Tales of Telemachus – I like it 🙂

    • Francesca permalink*
      March 3, 2011 8:21 pm

      Hee – thanks! I think you guys would love Pillars of the Earth – I can lend it to you when you get here – hurrah!

  2. March 5, 2011 3:12 am

    I just finished The Lost Books of the Odyssey last night! And I hear about about my boy Telemachos — he is truly my favorite, and I find myself writing about him even when I’m not thinking about it.

    • Francesca permalink*
      March 5, 2011 9:07 pm

      Esther! That’s awesome! I love how these characters worm their way into things, and I’m so excited that you love Telemachus too! I often feel for him – how hard it must be to live under the shadow of such a legendary, yet entirely absent, father. And with two such incredible parents, he must have so much to him as well, but we never really get to see it.

Leave a Reply

