Skip to content

Spiced Roasted Vegetable Soup.

May 1, 2011

I’m going through what might conservatively be called a soup phase. I think I’ve made more pots of soup in the last couple of months than in my entire life before. Partly it’s because the cooler weather has me craving it, partly it’s because I want something hot and hearty and healthy and tasty to have for lunch at work – I’m not at all tempted to head to the cafe downstairs for a chicken schnitzel burger when I know I have soup waiting for me in the fridge. And partly because soup is just so damn easy to make.

I’ve decided that May is going to be the month of soup on the blog. That doesn’t sound very exciting, does it? Hmm, once more with feeling … I’ve decided that May is going to be The Month of Soup! There. much better. Over the next 4 Sundays I’m going to share my 4 new favourite soups – they’re all happily and easily made, eaten straight away or frozen in batches for tasty, healthy Autumn lunches. Sound good?

Spiced Roasted Vegetable Soup.

Adapted from ::: Spiced roast butternut soup ::: The Really Useful Cookbook by David Herbert.

Note ::: The original recipe calls for 1 butternut pumpkin, but my local greengrocer was sold out. Kent pumpkin is easy to peel, roasts really well and is delish!

Prep ::: 20 mins
Cooking ::: 1 hour 10 mins
Serves ::: 4

1/3 Kent (Jap) pumpkin, cut into 2cm cubes
2 carrots, sliced
4 roma tomatoes, quartered
1 onion, peeled, cut into 6 wedges
3 cloves peeled garlic
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
1/2 tsp dried chilli fakes
1 litre chicken stock
300ml cream
1 bunch coriander, leaves roughly chopped

1. Preheat oven to 190°C. Grease a large roasting tray.

2. Place vegies in roasting pan. Drizzle with oil, sprinkle with spices and toss until vegetables are well coated.. Roast for 45 minutes, or until vegies are softened and coloured.

3. Transfer vegies to a large saucepan. Add stock and bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until vegies are tender.

4. Remove pan from heat and let vegies cool a little. Puree with a stick blender. Return to a low heat and stir through cream. Bring to a simmer and stir through coriander. Serve with hot buttered toast.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 11:44 am

    A month of soup! YES! I wish I had come up with that idea. Beautiful recipe- thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. May 2, 2011 10:55 pm

    Sounds good to me! I can’t wait to try out your recipes and I love that you use the word ‘delish’ – its a favourite of mine. 🙂

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 5, 2011 7:35 am

      Thanks! It is a tasty one, to be sure. And Yay for delish!! xo

  3. May 3, 2011 12:22 am

    Just wanted to drop you a note and let you know that I included you in my list of Top 10 Soup Recipes this morning- here’s the link!
    http://thefrugalflambe.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/top-10-soups/

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 5, 2011 7:33 am

      Fab stuff! Thanks for the inclusion! xo

  4. May 3, 2011 11:25 am

    OMG girl!!!!!! this looks DELISH!!

    thea.
    xx

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 5, 2011 7:34 am

      And it tastes delish! Hurrah! xx

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10: Soups « The Frugal Flambe
  2. Chicken, Vegetable & Pearl Barley Soup. «
  3. Hot & Sour Soup. «
  4. Hearty Mushroom Soup. «
  5. Hot Yoghurt & Courgette Soup. «

Leave a Reply

