Skip to content

Week 19, 2011.

May 14, 2011


Week 19 and things are speeding by! Is anyone else feeling quietly concerned that we’re almost halfway through the year and the to-do list is looking a mite undone? I feel like I need to take a deep breath, sit down and do some serious scheduling – especially for some regular time to sit down and write. I’m thinking 2 hours a week, somewhere quiet, but away from home, otherwise the routine to-do’s are always hovering in the corner of my eye, you know?

May always tends to catch me off guard with just how much is going on. As the weather gets colder (especially this week – brrr!) I have to fight the instinct to find a warm cave and hibernate, drinking cup after cup after cup of tea and instead head out and do fun stuff. So, next weekend I’ll be going to a couple of talks at the Sydney Writers’ Festival as well as ducking into the Sydney Zine Fair and the Sydney Finders Keepers. Hurrah!

This week I have for you :::

::: A gorgeous cookbook.

::: And a beautiful sunny yellow lampshade. (via Emma Lamb)

::: Fabulous photobooth props.

::: Turmeric Basmati with spinach and mushrooms? Yum! I’m going to have to give that a try.

::: I can’t wait to see this film.

::: Kirsty from Kootoyoo has started a new spot for Our Creative Spaces, which is looking quite lovely.

::: I love the work of You Sentimental Idiot, especially this piece. I wonder who belongs to that other hand? (via Poppytalk)

::: I’m going to leave you with a TED Talk, by Rik Elias, who was in seat 1D as his plane crashed into Hudson River. He says a lot that’s good, in his 5 short minutes, but this was what stuck with me:

“I no longer try to be right, I choose to be happy.”

Amen to that. Happy weekend! xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 12:38 pm

    I too am heading down to the Zine Fair and a talk Sunday afternoon at the SWF. Maybe we’ll cross paths. I do know how you feel about needing to be away from the “domestic bliss” to get productive, creative work done. There’s always something more that needs to be done at home.

  2. May 19, 2011 10:38 pm

    As much as I bristle at the thought of having to ‘schedule’ things I know from experience that if I don’t then certian things just won’t get done and unfortunately they are usually the things that are just for me (not for the kids, family etc).

    Thanks for the TED talk too. I do love TED. Isn’t it amazing how we complicate what is essentially a very simple recipe to a good life?

Leave a Reply

