Skip to content

Hearty Mushroom Soup.

May 22, 2011

Growing up, I was not what you would call the most adventurous eater (or adventurous anything, for that matter). I was incredibly suspicious of anything new, particularly if they were, y’know, a fruit or vegetable. Mushrooms were, for some reason, particularly worthy of hostility – I remember once picking every single tiny bit of sliced mushroom out of a bolognese sauce my aunty had made before I would tuck in.

What a fool I was.

The turning point was a slice of mushroom pizza. I was in my late teens, and I bought it on a whim. For some reason, all of a sudden, it just looked so good. And it was good. It was spectacular.

I’ve been on the mushroom bandwagon ever since.

The Month of Soup!

Week 1 ::: Spiced Roasted Vegetable Soup.
Week 2 ::: Chicken, Vegetable & Pearl Barley Soup.
Week 3 ::: Hot & Sour Soup.

Hearty Mushroom Soup.

Adapted from ::: Hearty Mushroom Soup ::: BBC Good Food Magazine, February 2006.

Prep ::: 10 mins
Cooking ::: 1 hour
Serves ::: 2, with leftovers

2 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, finely diced
1 large carrot, diced
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 tsp dried thyme
tabasco
freshly ground black pepper
250g fresh mushrooms, chopped
1L vegetable stock
2 tbsp marsala or dry sherry
1 tbsp tomato paste
50g pearl barley

1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add onion, carrot, garlic, thyme and a few good shakes of the tabasco bottle. Season with pepper. Fry for 5 mins or until softened. Add fresh mushrooms and fry for a further 5 mins. Add stock, marsala, tomato paste and barley.

2. Cook for 1 hour or until barley is soft, adding more liquid if it becomes too thick. Remove from the heat and use a hand stab blender to partially blend, about 25%. Return to the heat and cook for a couple of minutes. Serve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 11:18 am

    I’m going to have to try that!

    How good is soup season! I’m loving making soups at the moment, especially the really thick veg type. Perfect in a bowl sitting in front of our fire.

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 29, 2011 8:22 pm

      Yes indeedy – I love the vegies at this time of year! I envy your your fire, though my sofa and blanket is pretty good, I must say 🙂

  2. May 26, 2011 3:55 am

    yes, please. unlike my husband I looove mushrooms

    • Francesca permalink*
      May 29, 2011 8:23 pm

      Hurrah for mushrooms! I hope you still get to enjoy them lots, despite your husband!

Leave a Reply

