Skip to content

Weeks 20 & 21, 2011.

May 28, 2011

Ah, the best laid plans – two weeks ago I was talking about plans to get out and do fun stuff, then Bam! Hello, vile-sinus-bug-thing-of-doom. So instead, I’ve been laying low. No Finders Keepers for me, nor indeed, Sydney Writer’s Festival, alas. Although I did manage to get along to the zine fair last weekend, and catch up with some lovely friends, which was a balm in itself.

For some reason, when I’m under the weather, I feel even more inclined to read recipes, and there are some great ones around right now. I want to make these cinnamon buns. And this salad and these pancakes and this roasted chook. Ooh, and these breakfast potatoes! Man, now I’m hungry. Oh, and here’s 50 more food blogs we should be reading (as if we needed any more – but they’re so good!), including one of my faves, Whole Larder Love.

What else?

::: Geekish excitement was my response to the News that Stephen Fry has joined the cast of The Hobbit. And now I hear that Benedict Cumberbatch has signed on too? Bliss.

::: Speaking of geeky, firefly meets the muppets, right over here.

::: I’ve been fancying a pretty strap for my camera ever since I got it. I think this could be the one.

::: Here’s some Awesome people hanging out together. Yup.

::: And ten ways to totally screw up your novel.

::: I’m a little bit in love with this flower.

::: Sycamore Street Press has some new lovelies in their shop. Purrr.

::: This photographer’s work has really caught my eye. Simple domestic beauty.

::: And the Good Sense of the Week award goes to Seth Godin, who says

“Just imagine how much you’d get done if you stopped actively sabotaging your own work.
We must be talented, powerful and resilient creatures indeed given how much we manage to produce despite the constant undercutting, ridicule and needless censorship we aim at ourselves.”

Right, I’m off to make dinner – pumpkin falafels! hummus! hurrah! Happy Saturday! xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 11:08 am

    I love the idea of pumpkin felafels – do you have a recipe?

Leave a Reply

