Skip to content

Week 22, 2011.

June 4, 2011

Reality was nipping at my heels this week, tapping on my shoulder, making me worry about the future. Life was feeling very unfair. The incessant rain certainly wasn’t helping. Then Saturday came along. I slept in, went to my local cafe for breakfast, let the chatter wash over me as I drank my coffee and read the paper. I went for a walk, bought groceries, listened to music, did some housework, and as I did, my world gradually set itself to rights.

The reality of earlier in the week was just one possibility, and not at all inevitable.

This week, I have for you :::

::: A beautiful post by Ryan of Pacing the Panic Room, about finding balance.

::: Gorgeous landscape paintings.

::: Weird things bookshop customers say.

::: Reasons to love record stores.

::: I know it’s winter, but this online store is having a fab summer sale, that has my mind drifting to dappled sunshine and a tall glass filled with ice and ginger beer.

::: Remember that ad, with the bouncy balls rolling down the streets of San Francisco? Here are some photographs of that day. They’re magical.

::: Ooh, roasted berries. I may have to make some of these this week.

::: The insanely talented Sophie Blackall of Missed Connections fame has 5 signed posters to give away. Entries are open until Thursday!

Happy weekend. xo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 8:49 am

    Having worked in a bookshop I had to laugh at the ‘weird things people say’. Our standard dumb question was “I can’t remember what it’s called or who wrote it but it had a blue cover’! It was always blue…

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 5, 2011 10:20 pm

      That’s brilliant. Perhaps bookstores should have a display at the front with all the books with blue covers?

Leave a Reply

