Skip to content

Weeks 30 & 31, 2011.

August 6, 2011

Oh my, do I love Saturdays.

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, dominated by deadlines, late nights subbing a *massive* chocolate feature that took over my brain until it was full of cocoa and made me incapable for a while of talking about anything else. I’ve been noticing work creeping into my thoughts more when I’m not there, and I’ve since been attempting to draw a line in the sand and reclaim my brain for myself, so that when I leave work for the day, I can also stop thinking about it, and think instead about other things, and give some energy to them too.

The last two weeks also brought Elbow to town. Their show at the Enmore knocked me over, and no matter how much other music is played, I can’t seem to get Guy Garvey’s voice out of my head. Not that I would ever try.

What else?

I just made a killer curry, with lots of fresh chilli, and now the skin under my fingernails is tingling merrily.

And for you I have :::

::: A creative retreat to be run by my lovely friend Leonie next year, for those of us in the Southern Hemisphere who can’t get to Squam.

::: A gorgeous garden garland.

::: Milkshakes!

::: Gorgeous iced cupcakes.

::: And wise words for writers.

::: Oh, Harry. I want some more.

::: Here’s some more. A beautiful letter from a fan to JK Rowling, and another beautiful letter in response.

Happy weekend! xo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 9:34 pm

    Thanks for the harry link!

  2. Francesca permalink*
    August 7, 2011 9:25 am

    You’re welcome! Hurrah for Harry!

  3. August 7, 2011 5:58 pm

    Oh I do hope you can make it over to NZ for the retreat!

    Email to come soon… I promise!

Leave a Reply

