Skip to content

Macawrongs.

August 23, 2011

Batches 1 (overcooked, rock hard) and 2 (undercooked? hollow, alas) of pretty, pink, supposedly easy macarons. EPIC FAIL.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 1:59 pm

    And here’s why I am not even going to torture myself. I know where to get ’em and I am prepared to pay!

    • Francesca permalink*
      August 23, 2011 9:45 pm

      Yes, so do I – and yet, I am still considering making them again!

  2. August 23, 2011 2:10 pm

    That’s sad but I love that you posted it (and I love your title).

    Perhaps they’d be delicious crumbled over ice-cream? Or in some kind of parfait concoction?

    • Francesca permalink*
      August 23, 2011 9:44 pm

      Thanks, lovely. To be fair, they were still tasty!

  3. August 23, 2011 5:47 pm

    I haven’t attempted macaroons since last years Masterchef macaroon frenzy! The first batch I made were terrible – they all spread out into a puddle and not having made them before I wasn’t really sure what I’d done wrong. I tried them again (after much nagging from a small boy) using a Masterchef Magazine recipe and amazingly they worked out! The only differences were that I sifted the almond meal (which seemed like a crazy idea but actually did make the texture much finer), didn’t stir them very much (I was much too heavy handed the first time) and I piped them rather than tried to put them on the tray just using a teaspoon.

    That being said they obviously weren’t that good because I’ve never been back to torture myself a third time! I’d rather stick with a reliable Anzac I think…

    • Francesca permalink*
      August 23, 2011 9:42 pm

      Yes, I compared with a few other recipes, and this one was quite different. I like the tip about sifting the almond meal – thanks!

Leave a Reply

