Skip to content

Week 40, 2011.

October 9, 2011

My head is elsewhere. It’s with a flat I saw yesterday, which I’ve been considering. It’s nice. It’s fine. It’s got nothing wrong with it, apart from the tiniest kitchen in the land which would probably drive me completely mental, but apart from that, it had a nice vibe and I’d probably be comfortable enough. But it’s not The One, I don’t think so. Tell me, how sure should I be? Given a supremely limited budget – how much compromise is ok – how much is too much?

I keep promising myself not to rush any of this, but I’m feeling such incredible pressure. I wish I had someone to nut through all of this stuff with.

Thank heavens for hot cinnamon doughnuts and hot ginger toddies.

Today I decided to completely clear my google reader. I’ve had what must be 2000 plus unread items build up, and it’s been driving me a little crazy, knowing it’s all sitting there. So I marked most as read, and unsubscribed from a bunch, but I still couldn’t help from dipping in here and there, and I’ve found a handful of lovely things for you. Yes.

::: A blanket.

::: Honey and toasted nutmeg ice-cream.

::: Somehow I’d managed to block out from my brain the fact that I have some nutella in the cupboard, but this reminded me. Yum. I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow!

{Can you tell I’m fairly intensely into comfort eating at the moment?}

::: Beautiful porcelain.

::: Less is more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 10:45 pm

    So lovely to see you back! I feel your pain about looking for a place of your own. A few years ago we took the plunge and after looking at many, many, many houses we finally ended up in the outer suburbs (eek!) because it was all we could afford. I’ve only just got over the shock and this year we have finally started doing some renovations (hence my lack of blogging too). The reason we decided on the house we did (apart from budget) was that it was a fairly plain 1950s weatherboard house – cream carpet, neutral walls with picture rails, sash windows and plenty of light. We could move right in and not have to live with 70s shagpile carpet or weird 1980s decor. Even now when I look at my ‘ideal room’ pictures I try and look past the furnishings and decor and work out what it is that really attracts me (original period features, great natural light, big windows, initmate feel etc) as I think they are a better guide to what’s really important to you. Does that make any sense?

  2. October 11, 2011 8:10 pm

    Isn’t that a brilliant talk? I loved it.

    Nice to have you back here, I missed you.

    I think you’ll KNOW when it’s the right one. Some part of you will feel it and it’ll be all you can do to stop yourself yelling “YES!” out loud to a surprised real estate agent. You love to cook and I can’t imagine you in anywhere that has a tiny kitchen. Just sayin’

    Also, it needs to have room for people to congregate in the kitchen whilst you’re cooking – a chair in the corner where they can sip on a glass of wine, or space where they can help you chop something, or wash the basil you’re about to throw in the salad.

    I can’t wait to see what lovely place you find (and come visit someday)

    x

Leave a Reply

