Skip to content

At Home With Harry Potter.

February 20, 2012

Yesterday my ace friends Donyale, Kitiya and I got in line to see the Harry Potter Exhibition at the Powerhouse Museum. The exhibition features many fabulous props and costumes from the films, and as we walked around, I was struck by: 1. The incredible craftsmanship and attention to detail in absolutely everything, and 2. How many of the props would look just lovely in my new flat.

So I set about thinking how to add a little Hogwarts to my home.

1. Snacks with Hedwig ::: Wide-eyed cookie jar, from Anthropologie.
2. The key to Hogwarts (also useful for opening bottles of butterbeer) ::: Castle key bottle opener, from Anthropologie.
3 & 4. Fancy joining me for a cuppa in Hagrid’s hut? ::: Leather club chair from David met Nicole and Stainless Tea Kettle by Sori Yanagi from ReForm School.


5. Defence Against the Dark Arts: The good. A box of curiosities belonging to Professor Lupin ::: Watchmaker’s parts cabinet from David met Nicole.
6. Defence Against the Dark Arts: The (very) bad. Something you’re sure to see at detention with Dolores ::: Queen Nadira of Persia altered vintage plate from Beat Up Creations.
7. Somewhere to keep your spare school uniforms (Gryffindor colours, natch) ::: Outfitters Drawer Unit, from David met Nicole.
8. Good old Professor Sprout, I think she’d love this in her office ::: Vintage Print – Fennel, Star Anise – Book Plate – 1965, from Shaving Kit Supplies.

9. Finally, no home would be complete without a picture of you and your best friends on the wall ::: Friendship and Bravery illustration by Nan Lawson (she does custom portraits too!)

The Harry Potter Exhibition is on at The Powerhouse Museum until March 18.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 10:11 pm

    Where do you find the time to do this?? 🙂 Love.

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 21, 2012 8:13 am

      I have a time turner. Easy. xo

  2. February 29, 2012 8:59 pm

    Can you pick one of those up at Witches R Us? If not can I borrow yours?

    Love the outfitters drawer unit – wish I had room for a beauty like that in my house!

    • Francesca permalink*
      February 29, 2012 10:45 pm

      You and me both, Jo – but a girl can dream! In the meantime, I’m setting my sights on the owl cookie jar 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and saying hello!

Trackbacks

  1. Childrens Audiobooks On Cd | All On Audio Books

Leave a Reply

