Skip to content

At Home With Sherlock Holmes.

March 8, 2012

Hello lovelies, and how are you? I am gradually recovering from the dreaded lurgy, but still running at half speed and spending most of my free time resting (the novelty of which has decidedly worn off). I’m ready for new adventures, but while I’m still at home, I’m happily curled up with Sherlock Holmes, and rather wishing I was at 221B Baker Street, so I could gaze adoringly at the lovely man himself. And I wouldn’t complain about the violin, or the fighting, or the body parts in the fridge, honest.

In lieu of that, I’m thinking of ways I could add a little Sherlock to my home.

1. God Save the Queen! Gorgeous and patriotic ::: Hand printed Union Jack cushion, by Helcatdesign, from Two Red Trees.

2. Ready for tea with Moriarty (is Moriarty really dead? Surely not) ::: Home Sweet Home teacup and saucer by Ali Millar, from Rockett St George.

3. Ready to search for vital clues ::: Bakelite magnifying glass, from David Met Nicole.

4. Essential research ::: The Penguin Book of Gaslight Crime: Con Artists, Burglars, Rogues, and Scoundrels from the Time of Sherlock Holmes, edited by Michael Sims.

5 & 6. Bring a little London indoors ::: Pigeons, from Oeuf and Hand Cloud poster, by Debbie Carlos.

7. A clear and ready anatomical chart to figure out the goings on ::: Vintage St John’s Ambulance teaching chart, by David Met Nicole.

8. Watch things grow … doesn’t have to be plants ::: Tall glass jars, from West Elm.

 

It seems we may have to wait a while for Series 3, and some understanding of just how he did it. Until then, do you have any theories?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 10:07 pm

    For a bit more of British/Sherlock, may I suggest McVitie’s digestive biscuits if they are available in your area? They would be a delicious accompaniment to your tea (especially the chocolate-coated biscuits!).

  2. Francesca permalink*
    March 9, 2012 12:01 am

    Ooh, yes, I couldn’t agree more! I love dark-choc digestives … and now you’ve got me wondering which biscuits Sherlock would like? Rich Tea? Hob Nobs? Jaffa Cakes?

  3. March 9, 2012 12:55 am

    I can’t say for sure, but if I were Sherlock, I’d test them all! So tasty!

Leave a Reply

