Skip to content

Winter Solstice.

June 21, 2012

One of the first things that caught my eye in my apartment building was this art-deco window, leading up to the first floor. I see it every morning as I leave for work, and if I’m coming or going during the day on the weekend I can look up and see the midday light streaming through. Even in this silver light of winter, it sparkles.

Tonight, to mark the solstice, I’m lighting some candles, making a hot toddy, listening to the Bonfire Band and reading in my cosy bed. How about you? Is it mid-winter or summer where you are? I’m enjoying the cold, enjoying the layers of boots, hats, scarves, enjoying seeing the handsome men in their winter finery. But all the same, I’m looking forward to longer days and more light.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

