Skip to content

Fab Five Faves

May 31, 2010

I have a cold. I woke up with it yesterday morning and I’ve still got it today and I’ll probably still have it tomorrow. It stinks! (And makes me use lots of exclamation marks!) So, seeing as the lovely Pip (who also has a cold – alas!) is hosting five faves I thought I’d share my fab five fave ways to fight a cold!

1. Feed it! With chicken noodle soup! Whichever is your favourite. Today I had udon soup with teriyaki chicken. The clear salty broth was heavenly and the soft noodles went down a treat, oh yes. I bought mine from the excellent Japanese restaurant downstairs from work but you (or someone who likes you very much and is taking care of you perhaps?) could make some. This recipe looks good. So does this one. And this one. So many good chicken noodle soups to choose from! Ooh and while you’re at it, check out this Rice porridge with chicken and lemon grass. How good does that look? Very is the answer. I think that would go down a treat!

2. Water it! Try the juice of half a lemon, 1 teaspoon of honey and some hot water in a big mug. It soothes the throat! Honest! Yesterday I was craving salt, so I had a steaming mug of Bovril. It was so good! And before I went to bed I had a wee dram of brandy for medicinal purposes. But mostly I think water is the way to go, yes indeedy!

3. Moisturise! Lots! And use aloe vera tissues. Your nose will feel all the better for it!

4. Stay warm! Wear layers! Wrap yourself in a blanket, wear woolly socks and slippers and use a heat pack or a hot water bottle. Maybe one with a snazzy cover like the one above, from A Crooked Sixpence. Be cosy!

5. Go easy on yourself! Even if you really do have to work, then pace yourself! Take breaks! If you can rest then do! Read a favourite book. Watch a favourite film. It’ll do you a world of good, it will!

Have I missed anything? Is there a remedy or comfort you love? Do share!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 10:57 am

    I’d add go for a run – or walk. A friend and I have a theory that whenever we’re feeling like a cold’s coming on, we run or walk and the heating up of the body tends to kill it and loosen us up and we’re all good. True.

  2. June 1, 2010 1:10 pm

    Lots of your number 2 got me over a recent cold. Except I used way more than one teaspoon honey. I drank the concoction about three or four times a day. Worked though!

    I also recommend gargling with warm, very salty water.

  3. June 1, 2010 7:16 pm

    Great suggestions all. This year I’m on the front foot and taking Olive Leaf Extract everyday (it contains 400% more Vit C than an orange apparently!). Hope you are feeling better soon.

    • Francesca permalink*
      June 3, 2010 3:18 pm

      Nice tips ladies – thanks!

      I agree about getting out for a walk and loosening things up, Katie; it definitely helps.

      I tried the salty water gargle Yas, but I think I tried it too late for it to make an impact. Next time!

      Olive leaf extract sounds good Caz – I’ll have to look into it!

      xxox

Leave a comment